Okay, so I got home from the conference Friday afternoon, posted some initial impressions, and promised to post again ‘over the next few days.’ Instead, I got lost in new Twitter feeds and links and documents and slideshares, oh, my!

I’ve got one more day off (as I begin to write this post), and lots of ground to cover from the conference…

CFTT Conference – Day 1

The “Extraordinary Extreme Makeover” of PowerPoint 2010 presented by Margaret Britt, Colin Community College

Not a lot of difference in other Office products between 2007 & 2010 *except* PowerPoint 2010.  Ms. Britt’s slideshow was impressive; I hope to get hold of a copy, because I did not take detailed notes assuming I could review the presentation at a later time. Several new things of which I did make note:

Office Button. Gone. Only tabs on Ribbon and menu bar across top.

Sections.  Portions of a slide show can be designated as a ‘section.’ These sections can be collapsed or expanded within the slides tab (thumbnail view). I’m finding this very helpful: when I know one section is finished, I collapse it and move on (or back) to another section.

Collaboration within PPT using Windows Live™ SkyDrive.

“Broadcast” presentations (requires Windows Live™ account to broadcast; anyone can view).

Add-Ins available, such as YouTube Downloader, Live Web, Author Stream.

Laser pointer, Picture Fix, Remove Background, Animation Painter; Ms. Britt suggests use Smart Art instead of bullets.

Video improvements: embed in presentation; trim inside PPT, create video from PPT slideshow; rollover-to-display video controls. Ms. Britt suggested videos in small segments, between several slides.

I’ve been using the “Mac 2011” version for the last month; not all of the features are the same in the Mac version (e.g., I don’t seem to have Backstage View and can’t find the Laser pointer).  Why a MicroSoft product on my Mac? Because it doesn’t matter to me if Apple’s productivity suite is “better,” Office is what I am used to and what I use everywhere else, so it makes sense to me to keep using it. I was not pleased with the compatibility, or lack thereof, between Open Office and MS Office created/edited documents, nor was I happy with the limited use of online versions of MS Office – though I do use those products in Skydrive, Google Docs, etc.


When Do I Teach & Where Do They Learn? presented by Jennifer Seal, Pearl River Community College (Co-presenter Judy Roane)

Course redesign process for developmental mathematics courses with the goal to improve student success & lowering withdrawal rates


Free Visualization Tools for Teaching & Research presented by Teresa Welsh, University of Southern Mississippi

Dr. Welsh presented a variety of tools which emphasize visual elements. Visual content is powerful as tool for teaching (including blogs, glogs, wikis, YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook) and researching, such as spatial analysis and text/data analysis (GIS, word clouds, timelines, maps, AR).

Slideset


Augmented Reality (AR) in Education presented by Steve Yuen, University of Southern Mississippi

Slideset

Handouts

Amazing videos shown during presentation included 3D Printers Create Edible Objects and Wikitude Drive, a mobile AR navigation system.

Dr. Yuen’s Links:  Twitter @scyuen, blog, website, diigo library tagged augmented

The keynote speaker for Thursday’s luncheon was Reuben D. Jones, Maj. Gen., U.S. Army, who spoke to the IMCOM and GLIS programs, which serve educational needs of Army personnel and dependents.

I attended one additional session the first day, Using Social Media & Multimedia in Education presented by Craig Jackson, Mississippi State University. Details will be in next post.

